E

Archive for April 1st, 2010|Daily archive page

Ovation Cell Therapy: Thoughts and Full Review. | MegaTek vs. Ovation Cell Therapy.

In African American Hair Care, For Everybody, For Hair, Hair Care, Hair Growth, Hair Products, Ingredients, Natural Hair on April 1, 2010 at 2:42 pm

All Gone.

Hey People. Thanks for stopping by.
Welp, I’ve run out of Ovation. And as I promised, I am giving you a full-out review of Ovation Cell Therapy. I’ll try to give you all the Pros and Cons of this product.

Now as some of you know, I went ahead and ordered Ovations “Starter Package” kit, a bundled package of all their products in a smaller, 6 ounce size. This is great, since I really wasnt trying to buy their full-out Kit… as it’s just more than I need with my hair in braided status 90% of the time… and really, $100 dollars is more than I want to spend on just 3 hair  products right now. I’m not broke, but it is a recession kids. So the $60 dollar Starter plan was just right for me.

So in between braiding, I gave my hair a good wash down first with MicroTek Shampoo, a great wash that is good for stripping any dirt and oils out your hair and killing any bacteria/germs on your scalp for good hair growth. Been good to me since I ran out of that Neutrogena a few months ago. From there, I thoroughly washed the hair again with the Ovation Shampoo. Lightly scented and an interesting blue color, its took to my hair nicely and have me a good lather from the get go.  Wasnt too heavy or harsh, and when rinsing, didn’t leave it dry at all. I actually noticed a softer curl to my hair than I usually get with other shampoos… their MegaTek line included.

From there, I put in the rinse out conditioner, the Ovation Cell Therapy itself. It has the same texture and smells much like its cousin, MegaTek Pet Rebuilding Conditioner. It goes into your hair and give it this weird rubbery texture or feeling, but I put it in knowing I was going to leave it in for at least 15 to 20 minutes while I did my thing in the shower. At the end of that 20 minutes… my hair was feeling WELL moisturized and incredibly softer, which is the exact same thing the pet rebuilding conditioner did… but Ovation definitely left it softer.

Finally, I went ahead and put a nice amount of The Ovation Creme Rinse In… that’s the one that you can leave in or use as a daily conditioner if you wish. I just left that in for the last 5 minutes of my shower. Once again, beautifully scented, this went into my hair with a completely different feeling than the Cell Therapy itself… just thick and creamy going in and coming out.  Gave my hair a nice bounce and lightly conditioned feeling even after rinsing… and without leaving a residue type-feeling in my hair. And left it smelling nice and fresh (as most shampoos should).

Now  while I got a great ideal of how the products felt and worked on my hair in the shower, it wasnt until I went to work on my hair where I really felt the results come through. Now with my lovely 4B hair, combing through it post shower is pretty complex. Welp, not this time around. Between the two Ovation Conditioners, my hair was incredibly soft and manageable… and surprisingly easy to get the wide tooth comb through.  I was pretty surprised actually. Also, not a lot of breakage while I’m combing through it… really important to me, since my hair is easy and prone to breaking whenever it feels like it, basically.

After hitting it with some Infusium 23 and a SMALL amount of Darcy’s Peach Kernal Oil, I set my hair up for the blowdry. And I have to say, the biggest results came here. My hair was so soft after blowdrying. It was actually kind of weird. It was well moisturized without feeling to heavy. And it’s actually become better with each use.

Its been a minute since I’ve sat down and blogged like this, so I’ve had the chance to use the whole thing since coming in. And my hair has just become  softer and easier to manage after each use. And I actually MEAN that. It’s not like those commercials that say that in their adverts, then you use it and your hair still feels like crap afterwards. No. This stuff actually worked. And when it comes to leaving your hair soft, manageable and incredibly healthy feeling, this is just about one step up from where MegaTek had me at when I used their products.

Growth for my hair was on par as well… nothing accelerated that I could see by eye, but then again, please consider that I’m using at least 2 other products (Shapley’s MTG, rosemary) for rapid growth. Its kinda like adding extra icing on the cake. Not really gonna make a difference, but its good to have there. lol. I do see much healthier hair than I’ve had with other products in the past. My breakage with this product was normal. Nothing heavy and no unusual shedding. The only thing that’s beating this line of product when it comes to no breakage is the MegaTek Pet Rebuilder. Doesnt leave the supersoftness that Ovation does, but it can stop some hair breakage in a quick minute (with consistent use).

Basically, thumbs are up for Ovation Cell Therapy. I’m don’t know about accelerated hair growth, but it’s defintely great for keeping it soft and manageable. Also really good for bringing out the color in your hair as well. The shampoo is really great for that. As for MegaTek…. since you know… they are the same company… I love their leave in conditioner but I’m also gonna be looking into new ones pretty soon. I will be keeping their MegaTek Pet Rebuilder in heavy for a while… I really like the anti-breakage properties on this one. Its been really consistant and helpful when my hair gets weak or dry… keeps it from breaking.

Also, I’ll be picking up a bottle of MegaTek’s new leave in, silicone/oil free leave in conditioner… their new Avocado Extract spray. It looks and sounds like it has potential.  Ill keep you updated.

Thanks for sticking around.